• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

£50k CC/loan debt and job loss

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• £50k CC/loan debt and job loss

Hello everyone,

I have spent several hours reading this forum and CAG/MSE over the last few weeks. There are some very knowledgable and helpful members out there. Hopefully they can offer me some advice? I have posted on CAG as well but would love to have your input. The story so far....

I work in IT as a contractor and have recently lost my job. I am struggling to find any work and don't know when I will be able to find any more work?! If I do get some it will most likely pay peanuts!

I have huge debts and my savings are about spent. I've always managed to pay my CC/Loans and am finding this very hard to deal with. My current debts are:-

Abbey C/C 7,754.90
    Egg C/C 3,203.01
    NatWest C/C 9,709.28
    Barclaycard C/C 2,298.00
    Goldfish C/C 3,126.40
    Sainsbury's C/C 4,555.75
    NatWest Loan 7,456.50
    Egg Loan 9,627.11

Total £47,430.95

On top of this outgoing of £1468.25 I estimate my house/family/car monthly spend to be around £1400/month - this is probably as low as I can get it.

I think I'll only last another month then go into overdraft.

I also have some buy to let properties that are now in negative equity! These are just about paying for themselves and I'm dreading any repair bills!

I've been selling everything I can to live on and pay these debts but now I have to face facts and do something.

Yesterday, I cancelled all direct debits to the above banks.

Today, I sent a letter to my creditors asking them to freeze interest and accept a token payment of £1. HAS ANYONE EXPERIENCE OF DOING THIS? This is the letter I sent:-

Dear Sir/Madam