• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

VAT repayment misplaced against personal debt!!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• VAT repayment misplaced against personal debt!!

Hi all,

After some advice if possible:

In short, my LTD company recently had a VAT repayment of circa £3000. This was the first payment Ive had from them, and unfortunately they held my old Barclays Business bank accnt details, which was me T/A xxxx i.e a sole trader.
    Also with barclays, I defaulted on a 5k business loan which is a personal liability as I was a sole trader at the time.

Basically after 2 weeks of tracking and tracing, Barclays have taken the mis-placed 3k repayment from HMRC which was meant to be for the Ltd company, and placed it against the debt I have with them, which is currently under an arrangment with one of their in-House collection departments.

SO, where do I stand. Logic tells me the payment was for a sperate legal entity, and as such these is an illegal transfer by barclays....??

Any help is greatly appreciated,

Craig
    Tags: None

Re: VAT repayment misplaced against personal debt!!

Hi Stanton, I have flagged up your post for attention, hopefully someone in the know will pop along and help you sometime today.

Comment

Thank you

Comment

Ouchy, might be a tad too late. You must phone the Revenue/VAT office immediately and tell them your bank account has changed and ask them to recall the repayment.

There may well be a special form on the VAT section to complete for change of details. It is a great pity that you did not inform them of your new bank details before this happened.

Try this form, which you can down load online http://customs.hmrc.gov.uk/channelsP...E_PROD1_028516