• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Shoplifting

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shoplifting

I am so ashamed I was caught shoplifting in boots, I have never done this before and will never again! My head is all over the place! I was taken into a room with the security guards and the police were phoned, they came I was told I would hear for them will I get a criminal record ? This will effect my job
    Tags: None

Re: Shoplifting

Originally posted by Imaidiot View Post
    I am so ashamed I was caught shoplifting in boots, I have never done this before and will never again! My head is all over the place! I was taken into a room with the security guards and the police were phoned, they came I was told I would hear for them will I get a criminal record ? This will effect my job
    As you weren't arrested at the scene I would assume a police officer is going to be in touch with you and invite you in for an interview under caution if they intend to do anything more with this. A police officer once told me even if caught red handed for something always have a solicitor to accompany you in any police interview. Even though you have done what they say you have and it might seem as though just admitting it will be the best course - take a solicitor.

After the interview they might offer a police caution, which is an admittance of guilt and a warning that you sign accepting the caution. It basically goes on file for 5 years and if you were to be caught for another offence that caution might be taken into account.

Or they might charge you and then if convicted at court you would have a criminal record.