• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

moneybarn

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• moneybarn

Hi,
    In march 2016 i borrowed £9500 from moneybarn for a 2008 MERCEDES CLS.
    I paid £320 a month until december 2016 when i lost my job unexpectadly.
    I had paid £2880 in total
    I told moneybarn what had happened and that i would hopefully be back working soon as i am a highly skilled engineer.
    Moneybarn werent really interested and said they eould start court proceedings anyway.
    At the end of february 2017 i set up my own business and told moneybarn payments will resume at the end of march.
    Moneybarn said that only way i could keep it is if it went to court for some kind of control order and that this will cost me an additional £1500 plus the 3 months arrears of £960 so this would now put my monthly cost upto £450
    I told them no way was i excepting this extortion and wouldnt agree to it.
    Eventually i agreed to surrender the car back to them as they told me they wouldnt just sell it for anything and a reserve would be put on vehicle in auction.
    After letting the car go back which was still low mileage and in excellant condition with full service history etc i got a letter saying the reserve would be set at £3000 which is half its trade value.
    Its eventually been sold at auction for £4100
    The trade price is £6200 and retail is £8000
    Ive now received a letter from moneybarn telling me i know have to pay the balance of £11000
    How can i still owe this amount? Thats still more than the actual cost of car 12 months ago even after £7000 has been paid in last 12 months!
    This amount cant be a reasonable figure?

Thanks

Paul
    Tags: None

Re: moneybarn