• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Lowell Solicitors v Stupidstudent

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lowell Solicitors v Stupidstudent

All,

I have received a claim from Lowell Solicitors Limited, acting for Lowell Portfolio I Ltd, issue date 12 May 2017. I'm a mature student, having just finished my final examinations. I have some unsecured debts from my first couple of years as a student, 2 credit cards and an overdraft. I had some difficulties with the student loans company this year and didn't get paid correctly, which led to financial difficulties. I've had very little income, to the degree I have needed access to learning funds from my university to finish my course, and my landlord started eviction proceedings. This claim appears to relate to an Aqua credit card. My other two creditors would appoint a DCA every couple of months who would write a standard letter, I would reply about my situation, including a budget showing my expenditures exceeding my income, and they would pass it back to the creditor. The only exception was the Aqua card, who appeared did not appoint a DCA, so I wrote to them unsolicited in January as both my other creditors wrote at the same time (this may well be important).

The claim form arrived with a "letter of claim". The letter of claim is dated the 17th of April, although it and the claim form arrived on the 16th of May. I also received another letter from Lowell's, letting me know they were acting on behalf of Lowell's Portfolio I Ltd , which arrived on the Thursday, the 18th. This was the sum total of contact from Lowells Solicitors,and I heard nothing from Lowells portfolio I Ltd. I have not changed address or anything.