• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Ccj set aside....newbie!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ccj set aside....newbie!

Hi, I recently discovered a CCJ on my report. I only found out as I was in the process of applying for a mortage.
    It is apparently for a door step loan (Provident) I believe, in my name dated back to 2010. How ever I did not take this loan.
    From 2003 until 2014 I was living in France so I was able to apply for the judgment to be set aside as I had proof of this. Lowell portfolio were/are the claimant and agreed to setting aside.....how ever I am new with all this and didn't ask for a Consent order - they simply wrote a letter to the court agreeing.
    I went to court yesterday and the judge agreed to set aside but told me I would need to now prepare my defence for another hearing.
    I contacted Lowell this morning and they tell me that the debt with them is now Statute Barred and they closed my account with them in February this year and that i should now contact Lucas Credit. Lucas Credit have told me to contact the solicitors who were not useful at all.
    I have asked that they withdraw the case - So I'm basically after any advice or info.
    Tags: None

Re: Ccj set aside....newbie!

Hello,

In an ideal situation you ought to have asked the judge for the Claimant's to have re-filed and re-served their Particulars of Claim within X days with your defence to follow, otherwise the claim should be struck out. That way, the onus is put back on them to bring the claim rather than you second guessing what the claim is for and whether your actually liable.