• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Breach of contract & Secret Monitoring

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Breach of contract & Secret Monitoring

In June 2008 I started work with an ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR company. The Company is A JIB (Joint Industries Board) member.
    I am not an Electrician, but a CAD operative, with a bit of IT thrown in. I have never received a written contract, as many of the electricians, labourers and apprentices didn't, as their terms of employment are governed by the JIB rules. I never questioned the lack of written contract as I assumed the same rules applied to me also.

As part of my package I was told I would be paid at the rate of an electrician. (there is apparently ambiguity in this statement, My contract is Verbal)

I am hourly paid as are the electricians. I do not receive sick pay or enhanced annual leave as the staff do. I am however Office based in an office of 9; 5 of which are directors 3 of which are staff 1 on maternity, and 1 of which is me.

For each year, the JIB rate increase for electricians was applied to my wages until the 2014 increase. where it appears I have stayed on the previous years rate. in 2015 I received an increase to the electricians 2014 rate. 2016 no increase, 2017 no increase, so effectively I am now being paid substantially less than an electrician.