• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

How do I get paid? Strange situation involve contract work

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do I get paid? Strange situation involve contract work

I'm a freelancer/sole trader having real trouble getting paid by a client.

I recently worked 3 small contracts for my client, a marketing agency (3 days/3 days/1 day). I'm not set up as a LTD company, so I had to register with an umbrella company in order to get paid.

The first contract has been processed. I submitted my timesheet and I was supposed to be paid on the 17t of April, but I have received no payment yet.

The second two contracts haven't been put on the umbrella company's system yet. That means I can't even submit timesheets, so the umbrella company can't invoice the client.

I've since been in touch with the umbrella company, and they told me that they can't pay me because they haven't been paid by the client. Apparently the client isn't even communicating with the umbrella company. The umbrella company also told me that they can't put any new contracts on the system until the client pays the money it owes them.

This leaves me in a difficult position:

* I can't get paid by the umbrella company until the client pays them.
    * I can't get the umbrella agency to send off invoices for the second two contracts
    * I can't invoice the client, because they're unable to pay me directly anyway as I'm not LTD company.
    * Because I can't invoice the client, I also can't take them to small claims court (I think).

What are my options here? It seems the agency can just delay payment indefinitely and there is nothing I can do.

Any advice appreciated.
    Tags: None