• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Please help- Lowell account statute barred debt

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please help- Lowell account statute barred debt

Please could some one help me. I am not very experienced or knowledgeable within this area so please excuse me if I don't understand. This is quite detailed as been going on for a while now. I have won for the CCJ to be set a side but has now turned a different corner and really need Elphinstone with this.
    I have a statute barred debt with HFC that had been sold to Bryan Carter solicitors and then on to Lowell Solicitors. The debt was just over £6000.
    I opened the account in 2006 and defaulted in 2008/2009 due to personal reasons. I did ignore this debt over the years and made no contact or acknowledged the debt.
    In September 2015 I recieved a photocopied letter stating that I needed to reply to the county court for a judgement claim. I rang the Northampton county court to check this was legit as it had no details of the company whined had placed it. I explained that I had recieved no paperwork or claim pack etc and they gave Bryan Carter solicitors details and told me to contact them and explain the details. At this time I had no idea of my rights or what I needed to do.
    I spoke with Bryan Carter and explained what the court had said and asked if this could be stopped before going to county court judgement. Bryan Carter had stated that they would withdraw the claim if I agreeded to a repayment of £5 per month etc. They explained that I didn't need to do anything or contact the court as we had spoken over the phone.