• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Children's rights ???

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Children's rights ???

Could anyone advise at what age a child can say they don't want to go to see their father. He hasn't bothered with them for 4 years and has now got a new girlfriend who he's trying to push on them. He's only been seeing her 6 weeks. Neither want to visit with him as he's not bothered with them at all. And he has now threatened court action to take them from me. Thank you so much for your help advice in advance.
    Tags: None

Re: Children's rights ???

Hi Allbee,
    How old are your children?
    Did their father used to see them until the 4 year absence?
    I am a qualified solicitor and am happy to try and assist informally, where needed.

Any posts I make on LegalBeagles are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as legal advice. Any practical advice I give is without liability. I do not represent people on the forum.

If in doubt you should always seek professional face to face legal advice.

Comment

They are 8 and 15. They saw him previously as we were married.

Comment

The 15 year old has the right to not see their father to be honest due to their age and maturity.
        [MENTION=85500]Peridot[/MENTION] how would the courts view an 8 year old's perspective?
        "Family means that no one gets forgotten or left behind"
        (quote from David Ogden Stiers)

Comment

Might be a good idea to ask him if he thinks ‘forcing’ his children to spend time with him and his girlfriend will help them like him more. Nothing like dragging a mother and children through the courts to kick start a loving bond.