• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Beneficiaries

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beneficiaries

Can you please give me some advice this is my first time on the forum.
    I am one of seven siblings, our mother has recently passed away she has left my brother and sister as executors to her small estate.
    The executors firstly refused to give us a copy of the will. We sent them letters with no avail and then a solicitors letter they eventually sent me a copy of mum's will. Which I then emailed to the rest of my siblings. All my siblings have been paid their inheritance except my elder sister and myself. The executors refuse to give anyone accounts, and say we are only due £609 each, but they refuse to pay us anyway, saying they do not have to pay and are not going to. Although I only sent them three polite letters asking for my money, the Police have issued me with a Harrassment Notice, so now I cannot write again. What do I do?
    Tags: None

Re: Beneficiaries

Hi and welcome.
    Sorry to hear of your loss and subsequent plight.

You say your mother passed away recently.
    The executors are under no obligation to pay the legacies immediately, and generally not expected to pay within the first six months.

Are you a residual (apologies Residuary!) beneficiary?
    If you are, you have a legal right to see the accounting of your mother's estate.
    Last edited by des8; 21st September 2016, 20:03:PM. Reason: Spelling!!

Comment

Thanks for your reply, 5 of my siblings have received their inheritance and only my sister and I have not, what is a residual beneficiary?

Comment