• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Father estate concerns Solicitors mismanagement please hep

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Father estate concerns Solicitors mismanagement please hep

Hi this is my first time here
    I would really like some clarification and advise regarding our late fathers estate.
    My brother and I live in australia and lost contact with our father 18 years ago as he moved to the uk without goodbye.
    In may this year we discovered that our father had passed away in February via a google search we did 3 months later , and found his memorial notice in the Birmingham paper. However his name was incorrectly mentioned., second name as his first. So I contacted the funeral home which they then confirmed that it was our father.
    They then advised us to contact the solicitors who were handling dads affairs
    which we did . Once proving evidence of who we were, they then informed us that our father had a will writen up in 2011 with them, our father naming my brother and I as the only beneficiaries to his estate, and everything to be devided equally between my brother and myself .
    Our fathers estate is not large he had £13.000 in his bank account and all of his personal possessions within the home he rented. Which all went for £700 at auction after costs left a balance of £300 he also had a funeral insurance plan.
    All of his possession were removed from his home 3 days after his passing which was arranged by the solicitor and auctioneer who was also the valuer.
    The auction took place 3 weeks later.