• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Lowell issues a default notice that Capital One removed

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lowell issues a default notice that Capital One removed

Hi all, I am a newbie here and hoping to get some advice.

Well in 2013 I got a credit card with Capital one and ran into some extreme financial difficulties. I was in contact with Capital One through out and they removed the default from my credit file as a goodwill gesture but still had to pay the outstanding balance. I have been making payments towards the debt without missing a payment and the debt was recently sold to Lowell in July 2015. I was happy to carry on my payments with Lowell....

I was checking my updated credit report this morning and bam! Lowell have issued a default notice on my account taking me right back into the red as I have spent months building my credit report so I can get a business loan and overdraft. I called Lowell and at first they said they had no knowledge of the default notice as they are legally not allowed to issue defaults. Then they changed the story to say oh the default must have always been there and Experian has just updated the name to show Lowell Portfolio as they are now the legal owners of the debt. That is not true as I have been monitoring my credit files from all 3 credit agencies and this default was removed by capital one in 2014. When I mentioned this to them, they said in that case the default has been automatically reactivated because Lowell is the legal owner now!!