• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Speed camera sign facing the wrong way?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Speed camera sign facing the wrong way?

So I have just got the dreaded letter in to say I was doing 56mph in a 40 zone, not good and I know I was speeding and shouldnt have been. However, I remember at the time it was one of the mobile speed camera vans stopped at the side of the road and the little blue sign that warns you its a speed camera was facing the traffic coming towards me, at the time I thought this meant the camera was for them and not me.

Is there any point in challenging this? Or is it a likely slam dunk? I have never had any points before and am a little annoyed as I work as a driver so it wont look good, but not the end of the world I guess

Might also be worth mentioning this happened in Northern Ireland, and I have a Northern Ireland license
    Last edited by adambart84; 25th August 2015, 20:40:PM. Reason: additional info
    Tags: None

Re: Speed camera sign facing the wrong way?

Assuming NI is the same as the rest of the UK whilst the presence of speed cameras may be indicated with road signs it is not a legal requirement.

HOWEVER, section 4.2 of Northern Ireland SafetyCamera Scheme HandbookMarch 2006 makes interesting reading.http://www.psni.police.uk/safety_cam...e_handbook.pdf

The handbook isn't law, but if you can show the signs were incorrectly placed, it will allow you to make a complaint, which might make you feel better whilst admitting the contravention!

Comment

Single or dual carriageway - I have never known whether those vans get cars going both ways.