• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Caught shoplifting - help!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Caught shoplifting - help!

I was caught shoplifting in a high street store. So so dumb - I did it for the most stupid reason. The item in question was less than a
    total of £5. I took the tags off a multipack and took one item, leaving the rest.
    I was apprehended as I reached the doors of the store. I hid said item in my trouser leg - the CCTV had captured it all. I was asked to remove said item then taken to the 'Detention Centre' downstairs. The door wasn't locked though but I think they knew I wasn't going to do a runner as I freaked out as I've never done something so stupid before - i explained that I wanted one of the items, not the others, so I took that one item.
    The managerial security guard proceeded to ask me loads of personal questions like 'what do you do, what do your parents do' and berated me a bit (fair enough). He asked me to empty one of my bags and went through my others. He asked for ID - photocopied my drivers license, asked me to recite the details back to him. One of the people took a picture of me. They gave me an RLP form saying about Data protection blah blah and where I'd pay my costs to when I receieve them. They also took my email address.
    I wasn't asked to sign anything.

I'm freaking OUT! Advice please?
    Tags: None

Re: Caught shoplifting - help!

Hi and welcome to LB.
    Stop worrying is first thing.
    The chances are you willnot hear again from the store, but you will hear from RLP.
    However the advice is always ignore RLP.
    Do not respond to any of their fatuous demands for money.