• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Newlyn Help Council Tax dated from 2010

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newlyn Help Council Tax dated from 2010

Hi All,

Looking for a bit of an advise

Just explaining my issue quickly, i was living in a property in east London back in 2010/2011 which i left in July 2011.

During most of that time I was a student but it is only 2 months before leaving the property that I realized that i could be exempt from paying the council charge.

When i left my flat I received a payment for the amount of the council tax that i shouldn't had paid, and asked via email (I still have all the conversation with the council ~ 10 emails exchanged) if i owe anything else. The response was negative.

A bit more than one month ago actually i received a letter from Newlyn apparently a well known and respected company ..... asking me to pay 225£ . After a bit of research (it tooks me 2 weeks I was quite busy with work etc...) I finally got to the bottom of it and understood that when i left my flat on the 15/07/2011 the council forgot to charge me for the pro rata (15 days) of the month for the council charge and that they have been trying to reach me but didn't have any forward address even if we exchange so many email back in 2011 ...

So after 4 year the charge was now 225£ for an original unpaid amount of 66£, I have been trying to contact the council many times but they kept saying that the charge is with the recovery agency and that there is nothing they can do and when I contacted Newlyn either they sorry to say that treat me like a piece of s**t or ask me to pay straight away.