• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

buchanan clark and wells and utility bills

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• buchanan clark and wells and utility bills

Hi,

First post. My son shared a house as a student, I was guarantor (never again) in a joint and several agreement. The other two parties left without paying the rent and I copped for it, not good.

The agreement was he had the small room and wasn't on the utility bills, just the phone and BB, which he paid.

Now buchanan clark and wells have said they are sending a Doorstep Agent round and have addressed to letter to my son and the other two parties at my house.

They say he has to pay up as utility bills are "implied" and therefore he's liable ?

His name wasn't on the bill, but they said the other parties can add it ?

Where do I stand ?

I asked them to send the bills through to see what's what.

Help ...
    Tags: None

Re: buchanan clark and wells and utility bills

Getting confused

Comment

Ideally, we need to see the agreement that your son has. In the event that each student is held jointly and severally liable, he may well face a bill for the full sum.

Comment

Originally posted by Milo68 View Post
        Hi,

First post. My son shared a house as a student, I was guarantor (never again) in a joint and several agreement. The other two parties left without paying the rent and I copped for it, not good.

The agreement was he had the small room and wasn't on the utility bills, just the phone and BB, which he paid.

Now buchanan clark and wells have said they are sending a Doorstep Agent round and have addressed to letter to my son and the other two parties at my house.