• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Cabot - Halifax overdraft/default removal

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cabot - Halifax overdraft/default removal

Hi there,
    l'm new but I thought I would post up a bit of a progress thread with regards to my fight with these clowns in the hope I can share a bit of experience and hopefully given a bit of time, some entertainment. But also request a bit of information should I need it.

So so the story starts with a £1500 overdraft I had when I was a student, I went travelling and forgot about it as such. Anyway to cut a long story short I moved house when I got back and forgot to update my address. Sure enough I start getting letters through from Cabot saying they had bought the debt and demanding money. I pondered paying them for a while then decided that was probably a bit stupid and started my research. I finally settled upon the tried and tested 3 letter method and sent off the first letter, then the second before receiving a standard templated response (scans to follow). I then sent off letter 3 along with a section 10 notice demanding they stop processing my personal data unless they can provide evidence of the alleged debt. I got a standard bull shit response from their in house solicitors, Mortimer Clarke who cited that they would continue to process my personal data as they had a legitimate interest in pursuing the debt, despite their failure to provide any evidence. Today I sent them a response essentially throwing this back in their face and that their claim was bogus and illegitimate, as well as billing them for effectively wasting my time.