• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Marstons want fees on a fine I have paid.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Marstons want fees on a fine I have paid.

First of all hi I'm new to this bare with me and thanks in advance for help.

I get a letter from Marstons saying I owe £135 in court fines and their fee of £75. however I had paid the court fine to the court through the online payment system and have proof of payment.

I then get a letter from the court saying they have forwarded the money to Marstons and I still owe £135 in fines. Marston then send a man round to put a letter through my door stating a now owe Marstons £310 if I do not pay they will take goods to the value.

I have paid the fine in full not asked for Marstons involvement or needed it yet they still want fees. this seems unlawful. I have all the proof of payments for my fine. hope you guys can help how do I stop these guys as I have paid the fine. is it lawful to pay fees on a fine I have paid? Thankyou. What should I do now?
    Tags: None

Re: Marstons want fees on a fine I have paid.

You need to give dates, when were you convicted, when were you ordered to pay, when did you pay etc.

Comment

The dates are important if you paid after Marstons were involved fees are payable after all without them would you have paid?

Comment

Tricky situation here.
        If the fine had already gone to the bailiffs, then you should have paid the bailiffs.
        They in turn pay the court, and then deduct their fees.
        That is why the court sent your payment to the bailiffs, so they can do what they were instructed to do by the court warrant.