• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

council tax problem

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• council tax problem

please excuse me if this is the wrong place to post as i am new to this,i have a problem with council tax and would like to know if anyone reading this may be able to give advice.Here we go,my husband daughter and myself are on benefits but i have four children who live with us who all work so there for i have to pay council tax.we were late with a payment in october so the council issued a summ ons for the remainder of the year we paid this before the due date which included 48 pounds court costs all done and dusted or so i thought.Two days ago got a letter saying been a mistake we owe another 167.00 as they didnt include one of the four children on original tax bill,okay i thought if we owe that i will pay it but on closer inspection of the bill i noticed they have included court costs again which i already paid in the summons.I wrote to them stating i had already paid court costs and as this was just an adjustment i should not have to pay court costs again.Particularly as i havent had another summons,if anyone could give advice be most grateful as they are adamant i must pay the 48 pounds.

Re: council tax problem

So they have written back to you? What did they say other than you need to pay extra court costs?

Comment

Originally posted by Amy View Post
      So they have written back to you? What did they say other than you need to pay extra court costs?
      As well as the above:

Council Tax is not dependent on the number of children or adults in the property UNLESS you are a single occupant.