• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Advice welcomed - does the CCA apply?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice welcomed - does the CCA apply?

Hi all,

Wondered if I could pick some of the sizeable brains on here with a CCA query that I have ... I'm a complete newbie so please be gentle!

To cut a very long story very short, I bought an item from a large online retailer a while ago. 6 months or so later the item developed a fault, so I contacted their CS team who arranged for a replacement to be issued and the faulty item collected. What wasn't explained to me at that time was that this would be dealt with by way of a refund to the credit card used for the original purchase and a recharge for the replacement item. (I assumed that it would be dealt with by a straight swap.)

In fact, the credit card that I'd used for the original purchase had been 'closed', several months prior. The card has been destroyed, the account closed and I (foolishly, I admit), haven't retained any account details, as I considered my dealings with the credit card company concluded.

As a result, the retailer claims that they have made a refund onto the card (despite it being closed). Unsurprisingly, when they tried to take the new charge for the replacement item, this has been declined by the credit card company.

I've now received a number of (increasingly aggressive) letters from the retailer, stating that the sum of £70 is outstanding on my 'account'. I have, as far as I am aware, no 'account' with the retailer in question, and certainly haven't signed any CCA.