• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Irresponsible lending by Barclays Partner Finance

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Irresponsible lending by Barclays Partner Finance

Hi there,

I am currently sought after by Barclays Partner Finance because I was deceived into signing a guarantor for my older brother who took up a course with Red driving school to become a driving instructor. At the time I did not know the full implications of being a guarantor and I was under the impression that I was only a reference.

My brother defaulted on the payments and BPF came after me, even though at the time that the finance was issued I was a full time student at university with no income other than my student loan and still was in the same financial circumstances.

All I have received is one letter and lot of intimidating phonecalls. This was several years ago and because of the harassment by BPF I have avoided this problem, which I regret until now because my credit rating is ruined and I just want to move on in my life.

Any help or advice I would be grateful for.

B. Smith
    Tags: None

Re: Irresponsible lending by Barclays Partner Finance

I am afraid that as a guarantor, if the person you are standing guarantor for defaults, you are liable for settling any outstanding sums owing.

However, I note that RED Driving School and Barclays Partner Finance are involved in this and there has been coverage of this in the media, especially on television.