• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Burglary - Management Company Liable

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Burglary - Management Company Liable

Hello,

I hope you can help with advice on the following:

I am a resident in a block of apartments. All residents pay a monthly fee to a Management Company. The Management Company, as per the lease, are responsible for the upkeep of communal areas etc.

On the 20th of September, the Management Company were informed that the lock to the Bike Store had been compromised, thus it was now insecure. They were informed via phone by a resident.

A week later the same resident noticed that the bike store lock hadn't been fixed. This exposed numerous bikes worth £100s at risk. An email was sent to the Management Company enquiring as to why the lock hadn't been fixed. An email was sent from Management Company to this resident asking them for the Development Name.

All emails have been kept.

Logic says that the Management Company should have been able to ascertain the address and development name from the email from the resident.

At no stage did the Management Company send an email to residents, letter to residents, or contact a resident via the phone to ask that a note be placed on the communal board advising of the broken lock. If this had been done, residents could have removed bikes to apartments until secure.

Sadly, 3 days after the email from the Management Company, the bike store was burgled and 4 bikes worth hundreds were stolen. Locks cut and sawn off etc.It was only the day after that residents were told of this break in and property had been stolen.