• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

In a mess and cannot get out

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• In a mess and cannot get out

I seem to be in a terrible mess and hope someone can help. As a mature student I took out various Student Loans between 1997 and 2000. Due to illness and unemployment I have never been in a position to repay the full amounts but have continued to pay a nominal monthly amount of £10 that has been accepted. About 2 years ago, I received a letter from the Student Loan Company saying that a company called Thesis Servicing would be collecting the direct debit instead. I eventually received a letter from Thesis saying they wanted me to pay £28 a month. I telephoned them and said that I could not afford that amount and they would not accept the amount I said I could pay. The following month the £10 got taken out and has been taken since then.

I do not have a bank account of my own and the person who's account I used brought it to my attention that a £28 direct debit was also being taken along with the £10. It had in fact been taken for a number of months. ( This has left me with another debt and no chance of using that account for any new transactions) I asked the person who's account it is to stop the direct debit because I was confused as the previous amount was still going out.

On investigation, it transpires that the SLC only sold one of my loans, and the other 2 were still being serviced under the £10 a month that was set up years ago.