• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

debvfm - Parking Fine

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• debvfm - Parking Fine

Sorry this is my first time on here and I really need some advice.

My van was clamped by JW Enforcement this morning and the PCN charges were for my ex whose name the vehicle is registered to. I contacted the bailiff (enforcement officer) and was told I (he) needed to pay £1800 by midday. I contacted my ex and he said he would sort it.

The bailiff called me at 11.30 to say that the van had disappeared along with the clamp and that he (the bailiff) had reported the vehicle stolen.

My ex has checked online and the bailiff is now showing as being licensed although he maintains that he is.

What can I do?
    ------------------------------- merged -------------------------------
    Sorry I meant to say that he is NOT registered!!!
    Last edited by debvfm; 5th August 2010, 13:40:PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

Re: Parking fine.

As far as I know you cannot clamp a legally parked vehicle becuase of outstanding private parking tickets? If the car was parked illegally thats another matter, but then you would only be liable for the release fee for that one offence (fee will be signposted), not having to pay all the 'backlog' that the enforcement guy thinks you 'owe' - thats basicly confiscating your property and extorting money out of you and I would involve the police. Unless of course they have a court judgement which says they can take your vehicle - unlikely unless its a backlog of council issued tickets.