• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

baliffs chasing a 4 year old debt

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• baliffs chasing a 4 year old debt

hi all im new to this but i was recently contacted by equita ballifs saying i owed council tax debts from 2006.i am currently in disbute with the council over the amount as they have got it wrong plus all this has come as a shock as ive had no prior letters about these debts can someone give me some advice as how i go on as by sounds of most the amount per month i am willing to pay back will not be enough

Re: baliffs chasing a 4 year old debt

Unless you have a figure that you are satisfied is correct, you should not be making any arrangements to pay anything, either monthly or otherwise. Do you admit that you owe something, but you are not aware of precisely how much?

Read the bailiff guide for details on what to do. This can be found here Bailiff Guide - Legal Beagles

Comment

i prob do owe something but the council have admited its the wrong amount and are gonna calculate the amount i do owe.think im just shocked that i have been paying council tax for 2 years now at my current address and i have not received any outstanding balance letters then all of a sudden it goes to a ballifs firm.

what will happen if i can not agree a amount with ballifs per month i am willing to pay as i think they amount i can afford and the amount the ballifs want will be miles apart

Comment

You need to explain this to your council and insist that they recall the debt from the bailiffs. Preferably, you need to do this in writing.

Comment