• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Virgin/MBNA PPI

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Virgin/MBNA PPI

Hi,

My S.A.R request finally arrived from MBNA and whilst going through looking for charges I suddenly remembered that I had PPI applied to this account. It seems to have started right from the beginning, certainly its there at the first entry on my charges sheet which starts in 2003 and continues up until the middle of 2007 when I cancelled it after seeing Martin Lewis talking about it on TV and that was that. I hadnt realised there was a possible chance of a miss-selling claim until very recently.

But do I have a valid claim?

At the time when the account was opened I was a full time student with a part time job, working once a week at a gas station. A temporary job which I was due to leave once I graduated. (In fact I left a year early in order to fully concentrate on my studies in my last year.) Going through the call log there is no mention of it so I was never made fully aware of what it actually entailed and it was never explained to me fully and if it was appropriate to my situation. However also in the SAR was my credit agreement in which I had ticked the PPI box although I never remember ticking it. None of my other cards had it.

Is this a pursuable claim or is it a non-starter? It would be handy as there is money on this card and the reclaimed premiums could wipe out a third of the balance.

Can anybody who may have been in a similar situation advise on how to tackle this one?

Thanks

:emptybath:

Re: Virgin/MBNA PPI

Ok Bathtub, yes IMO you have a very good claim to get your PPI repaid to you plus interest.