• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Walking Possession Order

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Walking Possession Order

Hi, I'm a newbie. I owe a small amount of around £300 in Council Tax & have been pursued by Rossendales. They have posted a walking possession order through my door against a car in my name. The letter says they will take impound or take possession of the car if the bill is not paid. I am able to pay the bill in 2 or 3 installments.

Can they take the car if the walking possession order is not signed by me?

(The car is in my name for insurance purposes only, but it belongs to my wife). My life wouldn't be worth living if she finds out about this... please help.
    ------------------------------- merged -------------------------------
    Also, can anyone tell me if I am able to totally bypass the bailiff & deal directly with The Council? When a got into financial difficulty a few years ago, I seem to remember that I ignored the bailiff & contacted the council direct to make an arrangement.
    Last edited by ajm1; 3rd September 2009, 17:59:PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

Re: Walking Possession Order

Originally posted by ajm1 View Post
    (The car is in my name for insurance purposes only, but it belongs to my wife). My life wouldn't be worth living if she finds out about this... please help.
    Unfortunately, a vehicle is the easiest option for a bailiff to levy on as it causes maximum inconvenience and as such usually means the debtor will pay up sooner rather than later.

If I were you, I'd keep the car somewhere else.