• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Interest Rate Increases - Can they be Penalties?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Interest Rate Increases - Can they be Penalties?

Hi

I'm new to Legal Beagles and haven't had time to read everything yet - so please forgive me if I cover old ground.

I'm concerned about the excessiove interest rates I'm being charged by Egg. I was one of the 161,000 cards they withdrew earlier in the year. I have been pursuing a claim for repayment of penalty charges - they have, so far offered to repay the difference between the £20 they used to charge and the £16 they now charge - but no interest. I have declined. But it got me a bit angry and I started looking more closely at the interest rate being charged.

I currently pay a massive 26.9% APR - far above the original agreement. So a few months ago I phoned and asked why it was so high. The person I spoke to at the time (unfortunately I didn't take their name) said it was because I had been overlimit and had paid late on a few occasions. They also said if payments were made regularly over 6 months Egg might revew and reduce the interest rate.