• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Small claims court case against seller's solicitor

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Small claims court case against seller's solicitor

Hi all,

I purchased my property in July 2015, since then I've been chasing the sellers solicitors for around 2 years now with regards to a retention that was to be held on the property I purchased. They never bothered to respond so I finally put in a small claims against them in November 2017
    At the time of putting in the claim I had a section of the interest I wish to claim as well which I dated back to 2015 so almost about 2 years worth of interest which is on the claim form. I calculated the interest from October 2015 as I felt 3 months was generous enough to pay out the retention as the clause wasn't met.

However, as the company hasn't replied and I now want to request judgement by default. However, it doesn't allow for this interest to be added on in the final settlement figure. When I called MoneyClaim online they said you can't add interest dating back to 2015 but only since the date of issue. Is this true? What is the point of asking you a date when you put in the claim if that is the case?
    Also the link here makes no mention of this
    https://www.gov.uk/make-court-claim-...k-out-interest

Can someone please help? If I get the money owed I'd be happy but these guys have been sitting on the money owed to me for 2 years and haven't bothered to respond so I feel they should be pay the interest. Please do let me know if I incorrect in expecting this

Many thanks for your help and reading this far
    Tags: None

Re: Small claims court case against seller's solicitor