• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Just moved into rented property, furniture listed on inventory missing?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just moved into rented property, furniture listed on inventory missing?

I moved into a 2 bed furnished flat yesterday. There had been a desk in my bedroom when I visited the flat, and I double checked with the estate agent at the time that it came with the property. He said it did, and it was also listed on the inventory. However, the desk is gone. I'm a student and absolutely need a desk; and we chose this property on the basis we wouldn't have to buy any furniture. Is there anything I can do, or does the landlord have the right to not provide furniture listed on the inventory? I emailed about it and this was the response:

Hi Both,
    Hope you are well,
    I have spoken with your Landlord who has informed me the previous tenant had desks at the property this is why they had been on the inventory. The tenants had then taken the desk with them when they left The Landlord is happy for you to supply your own if you wish.

I can't afford to supply my own. Is there anything I can do?
    Tags: None

Re: Just moved into rented property, furniture listed on inventory missing?

If it's in the Inventory then I would think the Landlord has a duty to provide you with a desk. If not that particular desk (because they don't own it apparently) then they should provide you with one similar and acceptable to you.

When was the Inventory carried out? It should be done at the start of the tenancy so if the previous Tenants removed items they shouldn't be on there unless the agent is simply recycling an old Inventory.