Thread: delays , is it normal?

• Display

Mentions
    0 Post(s)

Default delays , is it normal?

I have been perusing a case for 2 years with solicitors, I got fed up with my first solicitor as I wasn't being informed and he did nothing for 13 weeks as he was waiting for a reply from the defendantís solicitor.
    I changed to another solicitor who at the initial interview said they could sort my case out and would keep me informed. Now I have been waiting for 18 weeks with no contact from them so I phoned them yesterday but she was out of her office and I was assured she would phone me back in the afternoon, 24 hrs later still no contact!
    Is this normal behaviour for solicitors as I have never used one before???

VIP Member

Mentions
    109 Post(s)

Default Re: delays , is it normal?

Hi
    yes it can be, especially if they have nothing to report as in the case of your first solicitor although they really should make you aware of when and why they will contact you such as ' I will be in touch when I have had a response to my letter toxxxxxx)

Remember as well, many solicitors charge for every letter sent etc so do you really want them writing to you every week saying still waiting - another £25 ?
    Any advice or opinions I offer are based on my experience dealing with personal debt as well as other life events.
    I have no formal legal training
    Any advice is offered without liability
    If in doubt take professional legal advice or contact the CAB

Mentions
    0 Post(s)

Thanks, I thought they would at least chase up the defendants solicitor after a few weeks but it seems they do nothing until they are contacted, as a paramedic I would love their pay and conditions I could just drive by a collapsed person and wait for instructions then go to them when I had finished lunch (not that we get lunch!) lol.

VIP Member

Mentions
    109 Post(s)